Mass Combat Tactics – Clarification

At the most recent game, I made a mistaken call regarding how Mass Combat Tactics work, based on a personal misunderstanding of the rules. I have since reviewed the relevant section of the rules and present them here for your edification:

Assist Attacker
A character may use its Standard Action to assist another character’s attack. This may be done at any time, regardless of initiative order, though the assistant must be able to act in the current round.
The Attacker must accept this assistance.
A single character may only benefit from one Assist Attacker action per attack (so choose wisely):

  • An Assist Attacker action from a Sheeted Character allows the Attacker to use a single Combat Maneuver for free (i.e., no WP cost).
  • An Assist Attacker action from a Stock Character grants the Attacker a +1 to their attack test pool.

Assist Defender
A character may use a Simple action to assist another character’s defense. This may be done at any time, regardless of initiative order, though the assistant must be able to act in the current round.
The Defender must accept this assistance.
A single character may only benefit from one Assist Defender action per defense (so choose wisely):

  • An Assist Defender action from a Sheeted Character allows the Assistant to take up to 3 steps and forces the Attacker to target the Assistant rather than the Defender. Both the Defender and the Assistant count as having been targeted by the attack for the purposes of the maximum number of attacks per round.
  • An Assist Defender action from a Stock Character grants the Defender a +1 to their Dodge based defense pool.

Bryan Lee Briggs
DMH Sabbat VST
US2016010036
DISCLAIMER: This email and any attachment is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

Leave a Reply